Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob, feel free to flame. I will try and keep my questions specific, and have read through the FAQ!

I'm a 6'6 guy looking at getting in to the cafe racer scene, and have been riding for a few (6?) years. My first bike was an 87 Yamaha Virago, but it was MUCH to small and has since departed. Recently it has been an 07 Suzuki SV650S, but that is now also gone due to financial issues.

I love the look of the classic cafe racers, and was hoping to do a conversion over the next year or so. My motorcycle mechanical experience is rather limited, but I do most work on my car (and Audi A4, not an easy vehicle to figure out) and learn quickly.

My problem, as the title states, is finding a bike suitable to my size. Being 6.5 feet tall, I feel rather cramped on most sport bikes. I've come to accept that I will never be as comfortable as most, but the riding is worth it. From my research so far, it's looking like the following may be suitable bikes to start with:

Suzuki GS1000/750
Honda CB1100F/900F/750F
(late 70s - early 80s for all)

Does anyone have any insight, or suggestions as to a larger bike I could begin with? Any help is very much appreciated!

·
Registered
373 Posts
One of the fellas, Geeto67, is like 9' tall or something and he's got a CB750 that he rides a lot (among 20-30 other bikes of various sizes). Your inseam will also help some of the guys here form an opinion.

And welcome!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
quote:Originally posted by DubleR

One of the fellas, Geeto67, is like 9' tall or something and he's got a CB750 that he rides a lot (among 20-30 other bikes of various sizes). Your inseam will also help some of the guys here form an opinion.

And welcome!
Thanks DubleR! My inseam is a 36 I believe, I haven't been measured in a few years.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts