Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just to keep things moving along, My 350 twin was up and running in its most complete form since i brought it home in Feb. done a couple shake down runs in other forms, but this is the best state of tune up to this point. I now realize why people scoff and snicker when people ask, "HI im a newbie here. What is the best performance modification i can make to my CB350 twin? open pipes, k&n's or what."
I too will now snicker. I hve not had any misconceptions about the little bikes' capability but now as it is i realize that nothing short of building a race motor is gonna wring major power boosts out of it. Was totally fun to ride don't get me wrong, i love smaller bikes even while being a little other side of normal size.

Anybody else here care to share some of their first impressions, misconceptions. or perceptions of this hobby we all share? Get a ride on that dream bike that fell short or far exceeded? What was the moment you realized you were not as great a rider as you thought you were? Those can result in valuable lessons. just trying to keep things interesting. gotta get back to work now, oops....

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
Kind of what you asked for, but with cars.....

For YEARS I lusted for a MGTD sports car--beautiful sweeping fenders, chrome grill, suicide doors. Just an object of beauty that you could drive. They were pretty pricy but I finally found one I could afford by trading my 7000 actual miles 1959 Morris Minor Convertible and $2500.

When I brought that car home I was in car heaven....for about a week. It was the worse riding and handling car I had ever had. It was cramped and your feet boiled. It was SLOW. I kept it less than a year and was happy to see it go. My sprite was a better car.

The best analogy I can think of is that drop dead gorgous babe you chased for years, and when you finally got her in bed she just layed there and wasn't any good!