Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! This is my first time posting, but I've been lurking for a while.

I have a 1975 cb200t that does not want to idle when it's warm.

Here's some history:

It has 2500 miles and is super clean. I bought the bike at Mid-Ohio last year. It wasn't running right then. I pulled the tank and carbs and gave them a good scrubbing, replaced all the carb gaskets (it was missing the o-rings that go between the carb and the boot and the boot and the engine on both sides), and changed the oil. Still didn't run right. Tried to adjust the cam chain and broke the bolt. Doh! Found a replacement cam chain tensioner bolt (not as easy to find as I would have thought). The only way to fix that is to pull the motor. Pulled the motor, replaced the bolt, put everything back together. (The cam chain master link is impossible to find too. Any suggestions on where to get one for next time?) Set the timing, set valve clearance, changed the oil again. This took me all winter, so I figured I should give the carbs a good scrubbing again, just in case. I went through them very thoroughly.

I had the coil and wires tested - they are ok. I just put in new spark plugs. I checked the float bowl height, it's within spec. I have the idle and air mix screws set within spec.

The bike still won't idle properly. I can start it from cold and it will idle high around 3k-4k. As it warms up, the idle drops down to around 2k, and once it goes lower, it just dies. If I keep the revs above 3k, I can keep the bike running. I can ride it around and once it's moving, its runs fine, but as soon as I come to a stop, or pull in the clutch, it dies. If, while keeping the revs up with the throttle, I put my hand over the right carb, the bike falters and dies slowly and I get gas all over my hand. If I put my hand over the left carb, the bike dies almost immediately.

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
92 Posts