Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1985 CB450
1973 CB350F
Are these bikes any good? I thought I remember reading one of the post that said CB 450's past a certain year were dogs.
Thanks

·
Registered
8,388 Posts
Run the VIN #s by the local police. They'll tell you if its stolen. Getting a title can be very easy with a bill of sale, depending on where you live.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Unga I always thought you were supposed to stay away from anything without a title but I'll check into how difficult it is to get one.
The guy says the bike is not running but since its a Honda that should not be a problem, whatever that means.
I don't know if I'll mess with this one or not. Probably just keep looking around. Can't decide what I want anyway. The only bike I've had was a 750 and I always thought 350's were too small. I want a bike to work on and try to restore but I have no experience at it and thought a smaller bike would be easier to learn and experiment with. Probably fun to ride too.
I'm not sure if thats necessarily true but thats my thinking anyway.
And I'm cheap.

·
Registered
699 Posts
if you don't have any experience working on bikes, stay away from bikes that you are going to have to totally re-do just to ride it. get one that runs and rides that you can work on a little at a time...break it down into "systems". if you get one that is a little over your head to start out with, you will get frustrated and 9 times out of 10, you'll give up on it...we don't want to see that happen. spend the extra money and get a runner, and learn from there. when you get some experience, then dive into a pile and save a diamond from the rough. good luck!!

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Tyler didn't you see the part about me being cheap.
No, just kidding, thats good advice.
Part of my pitch to my wife was I get a barn bike and it won't cost much to start riding again.