Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my second time around on this bike, the first time was a bit of a trial run as this is my first bike. I cut a lot of corners to save money the first time, so I'm going a little slower and improving the quality for version 2. I'll try to keep this thing updated as I move along, but I'm a full time student so between that and work I can't move too fast.

Here's a quick history by way of pictures

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
01/27-08
I've slowly been sanding and painting some stuff in my spare time, as well as working on my carbs here and there-

I also started repairing my seat today, something fell on it while it was in storing and took a nice little slice out of it-

What do you guys think about the color of the frame and engine? I'm pretty set on a metallic blue for the tank/seat/swingarm, and I was thinking silver or black for the motor and frame. What color combo would you guys go with if it was yours?

2/2/08

Put the seat in the first coat of primer today(still wet if you can't tell). When I'm satisfied with my scratch repair I'll put some color on it.

I'm still not happy with the shine I'm getting with this stuff, but I think I'll be able to really get it to pop eventually. Until then I'm not going to paint anything other than samples.

2/3/08

The seat has some color, now I just need to smooth out that layer of clear on top.

3/1/08

About 1/4 of the way done porting the head

3/15/08

Tank is painted

3/16/08

Here's the color that the frame & a few other accents will be

3/22/08

Been working on the exhaust porting, here's a comparison of what I've done so far.

4/05/08

Polished up the tank today.

4/11/08

First layer of primer.

4/19/08

Decided on the engine color finally

·
Registered
326 Posts