Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bouthg a cb360 about a year ago and have been working on it off-and on (it's my first bike or attempt at fixing). Unfortunately it has no power whatsoever and wants to die really quickly (within about 5 minutes). It just runs like shit. And my only guess is that the floats are messed up. Can anyone help me? It's making me livid..

carbs cleaned and synched
new clean oil
points and valves adjusted properly
plenty of gas in the tank
compression is fine
spark plugs are in good shape
(I don't have filters on it yet, and I don't think that is the issue).
bike idles well while standing

I haven't even attempted to take the engine apart because I wouldn't know what to do with it anyway. My assumption is that it's still the carbs. Maybe it is just the floats? Any other suggestions? I would really really appreciate it. Like I said, I'm really new to all of this and am not quite ready to give up yet...

·
Registered
13,809 Posts
check the battery.

check the coils.

will it start and idle at all? floats are relatively easy to check. cleaned means aot of different things. especially on carbs. how about idle air screws? just throwing a few things out there.

jc

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The bike idles better than it ever has before, ever since I cleaned out the carbs and jets (carefully, of course).

·
Registered
2,670 Posts
Does it seem like it's running out of fuel or flooding out?

Have you checked the fuel supply? The petcock may be partially plugged and allow a little fuel through but not enough for proper operation. After it dies does it have to sit awhile before it will restart? How dirty is the inside of the tank? If it's real dirty you may already have crap back in the carbs. Cap vent? Do the floats float?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5