Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am having an issue using the electric start for my bike. Just put a new battery in the bike and it starts with a kick everytime. Checked the majority of the wiring and it seems to be in order. When I hit the button I just hear a "click. click" from the solenoid but no start or turn over of any kind. I am new to these bikes so any help would be great. If it's the starter, how hard is that to swap out. It's a 72 CB 750. Any help would be cool.

*Demonic Designs*

·
Registered
37 Posts
Did you charge the new battery once you poured the acid into the cells? If yes, then check the battery to make sure it is giving you enough juice. If yes, then check the wires and also check for corrosion. After all of that then I would look at the starter itself. I had the same problem with my 73 and it was a matter of getting and new battery, adding the acid, and putting it on the Battery Tender for the better part of a day. I hope this helps.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yep, got the new battery, poured the acid and charged her up. Got 12.70V out of it everytime I tested. Left it on the Tender everytime I didnt ride the bike. Thinking the starter itself might just be the killer here. Thanks for any answers

*Demonic Designs*

·
Premium Member
10,737 Posts
fresh (new) battery on a full charge should be well over 13volts.

my racebike won't run worth a shit at 12v....that's all i got.

tex

·
Registered
23,303 Posts