Cafe Racer Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1982 Honda CB 750
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, long time listener, first time caller.

Me: I ride around the Pacific Northwest (Portland is home), I'm a mouse's eyelash from 6' 6", and I work in IT for the school district(s). I've ridden since I was a kid, uncle had a plot of land and a bustling repair shop in another country. Moved away, but kept the itch to ride.

I've had a '79 Yamaha SR500 (stolen), couple of other late 90's CB900/Nighthawk (sold when I moved from West to East Coast), a '16 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone (totaled, attempted theft), and now a '17 Triumph Thruxton 1200 (non-R).

Finally settled down at my new job and home (rented, sadly) and I have ample space for a project again.

Looked online, found a lad who was eager to trade for a spare laptop I had, and I came home with a 1982 Honda CB 750 Custom. Only $$ spent was the uHaul and some straps I needed.

I'm going into this with calluses on my hands/fingers, several tools, extra time, and a few bucks to spare over an indefinite period of time. I want to learn, most of all, HOW my bike runs, and not just enjoy the good-weather-rides.

I guess, I'm also looking for inspiration, or some direction as to how to go about this correctly.

My Thruxton scratches my "Cafe Racer" itch, so I was looking to see what ideas others may have!

Scrambler (my old Guzzi was a pseudo-scrambler with the 2-in-1 Arrow Exhaust and tracker bars)?
Naked?
Streetfighter (thicc wheels would be nice)
Full on restore?
or another Cafe Racer?

Bike fires, battery holds "some charge" enough to power on lights and starter, but hasn't turned over as I was told Carb 2 needed a floater bowl gasket, which seller had. He did not have the time with his new baby, and had the part sitting alongside the bike for 6mo.

I haven't taken proper images myself, so I am using one I was sent from the seller (I have the side/airbox covers, were just taken off to check internals).