Cafe Racer Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, a newbie here with a question about some old stuff I have in the attic. Back around '87 or '88 IIRC, I welded up a bunch of fairing mount brackets for a guy in the Palms neighborhood of LA. He had a garage full of Paul Dunstall seats, tanks and fairings. In exchange I got a cafe seat with locking tail, a tank with cap and a fairing and windscreen with full lowers. It is all marked as fitting a CB500/550 and is in pretty good shape, the tank is blue metal flake and looks great, the seat and fairing is thin red fiberglass and while scuffed it has no cracks or gouges.... Never been on a bike as far as I can tell.

My question is what is it worth as is vs what would it add to the value of a CB550 if I built up one to suit the plastic? Any ideas or suggestions?

·
Premium Member
2,418 Posts
Those parts are definitely worth...something. However they're not terribly scarce. I had a 500 with the fiberglass pieces on it. The dunstall parts definitely have their own look. Some like it, some don't. I'd guess you could get around $500 for everything. Find the right hipster looking to cafe his cb and ask a grand.

Any good AMA racer stories? Also, a few of us here know the guy that used to run the NYC Computrack, Mike Martire.

JD

·
Premium Member
2,418 Posts
Those parts are definitely worth...something. However they're not terribly scarce. I had a 500 with the fiberglass pieces on it. The dunstall parts definitely have their own look. Some like it, some don't. I'd guess you could get around $500 for everything. Find the right hipster looking to cafe his cb and ask a grand.

Any good AMA racer stories? Also, a few of us here know the guy that used to run the NYC Computrack, Mike Martire.

JD

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have a few stories, but I'd have to kill you afterwards....... Those factories hate to have their secrets get out.

·
Registered
24 Posts