Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, this is my first post on the forum, so greetings! I just bought a 1972 Honda CB500-F and hope to have it fully cleaned/rebuilt and turn it into a cafe racer by the end of this summer. This is my first project, so I'm gonna need your help!

-Aaron

Attachments

·
Registered
1,004 Posts
clubmans w/ rearsets. I like the top pic w/ the bars on it.hows the tires, shocks ,fork springs. hows it run? like gs1327 said, don't hack it up. and most important no- cheap pods, keep that stock airbox

·
Registered
6,587 Posts
Where do you guys find all these tidy old bikes? Something in that condition in Australia would fetch well over $5000.

Oh yeah - and I agree with the crowd - do not cut/fuck it up.

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Hillsy. Since moving here I'm still in shock mode with some of the machines around here. There are just so many of them. When I left some guy on bike point was trying to launch a Jaffa for 20 grand. Saw a big Zed here in close to stock, running condition for 4 grand. And I'm sure that's too much to pay for the thing.

Always looking for a Z1-R. Fucking love those things.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
clubmans w/ rearsets. I like the top pic w/ the bars on it.hows the tires, shocks ,fork springs. hows it run? like gs1327 said, don't hack it up. and most important no- cheap pods, keep that stock airbox
The guy I bought it from had the spare clubmans, so I installed them the second day I had it! Tires have a lot of tread left, shocks and fork springs all work well. And I've already put 100 miles on it ;) It is a machine. Part of me is with you on not wanting to hack it up, but if you've seen Joe's Lucky 13 cafe racer (google it), that's what I want to go for (with a few of my own unique takes of course).

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #9