Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
any easy suggestions on pulling old fork oil seals from a cb500 fork. Man it sure is in there and I don't want to damage anything!

Yeller'
---
Ask not what the wanker can do for you, but what you can do for your wanker!

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
quote:
Take the metal retainer clip out first :)

JohnnyB
Thanks JB.... I am not a master mechanic, but I am also not a complete idiot...so I am told. I read an article this morning on line that said you should fill the fork with water and put it under load. The pressure will pop the seal. Water is cleaner then fork oil and since you have to clean the fork before reassembly, the water should not harm the fork. Sounds like it could damage other components... interesting concept though.

Yeller'
---

·
Registered
2,595 Posts
How do they propose to "put it under load"? I suppose you could thread a hydraulic fitting into the drain hole, or maybe an air line. I've always just used lots of rags to protect the legs and lowers, and secure the sliders in a vise and let it rip. The fork tube won't distort before the rubber seal breaks loose. You just need to show it who's the boss.

FR

·
Registered
2,135 Posts
quote:
I've always just used lots of rags to protect the legs and lowers, and secure the sliders in a vise and let it rip.
you can also hold it with an old automotive belt and crank it down around the slider with a vice...the rubber gets way more grip than cloth and would break long before the slider would bend.

NCNR

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
quote: