Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5,379 Posts
proset adhesive, west system g flex adhesive or plexus ma590 adhesive

make sure you scuff the surfaces to be glued and try your luck. all three of these products are expensive 35-45 bucks per tube. i would glue it .. then again i am a nerdy composites guru.

C'MON PEOPLE... SEND ME SOME BUSINESS... I NEED TO MAKE SOME MONIES!!! gots to plug my stuff too

matt

·
Registered
2,843 Posts
krap, i have used marine tex quite a bit for gas tank type repairs. the best out there. you can get it at a marina/boat supply shop. make sure you get it in grey.

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
I have a similarly assembled petcock on one of my bikes

after it came apart and dumped a lot of gas all over me and my running bike...

I studied it a bit and decided I'd shrink the bore the nipple presses into

and expand the nipple's OD

it really didn't take much at all

been about 4 years ago and after it was snapped back in place

it's not offered to jump back out since or even seep one bit

if it ever does again I'd probably use some MarineTex or devcon kinda stuff

or whatever that sticky jizz is pimp-meister monkey is rattling about

to this day I've never figured out what had come over me that had me actually using such fuel tap on one of my bikes when there are so many
really good and nearly bullet proof fuel taps out there to be had

the one I used was off a RF900 and I even went out of my way to fit up and fab up a tab to mount it... and then even welded it to my frame

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
quote:Originally posted by monkey

C'MON PEOPLE... SEND ME SOME BUSINESS... I NEED TO MAKE SOME MONIES!!! gots to plug my stuff too

matt
Seriously? because I have some fiberglass 1970s parts I want copied (so as not to ruin one of a kind originals) if you are up to it? Maybe some CF instead of boring old fiberglass mat?

·
Registered
2,740 Posts