Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having trouble justifying the price here. Bike is not running and partially dissembled. Sounds like there's been a gear issue that may be due to gunking. Seller is asking $2000, I have talked him down to $1250. I think this is still way over price. Does anyone have any thought or advise here?

Thanks!!!
Rich

49971514380__6958B6FD-72EF-46FC-AC40-A0F95B80717B.JPG 49971331517__945287E3-69F7-4DFB-9E5E-74BB5A2050CB.JPG

·
Registered
23,287 Posts
A lot of that depends on how experienced you are, what the bike actually is, and what you plan to do with it.

Also I am assuming that the rear of the frame past the shocks hasn't been cut off.

Let's start with the basics:

1) is it actually a 1968 or 1969 cb450? If so does it come with the missing stock parts?

2) are you a mechanic by trade or hobby? if so do you have expirence with working on motorcycles

3) How custom do you want to get with the finished bike?

4) where are you located?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply!

1) It's actually a 1972 CB450. It comes with all the missing stock parts. The story is that it ran great and was taken apart to mod the frame (drop and shorten). The frame mod appears to be a pro job. They then gave it back to the owner to re-assemble, the owner had developed cancer, and so the seller took on the project and couldn'y figure it out. That's the story, who knows what the truth behind her is though..

2) Hobby, I have moderate experience working on bikes but have admittedly run into some luck and haven't encountered any huge issues.

3) I really like the overall theme this bike is going for and wouldn't customize too heavily.

4) New Hampshire

Rich

·
Registered
134 Posts
Its actually hard to determine what year it is as that tank is misleading, it looks similar to a 68/69 K1 450 tank but I don't think it is, it looks to be from something smaller..

·
Registered
7 Posts