Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7,013 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having acquired the rights to the Kawaton my plan is to freshen it up and make it a runner. I have not worked on a triple since around 75 when i had the H1, but never went into the motor. I hear talk of seals being dated and the cases split to repair them. Will it hurt if the motor is started with bad seals. Will it smoke (how would you know). How does one tell if they need replacing? I'm a total noob to this motor and my question will bare that out. I believe this motor is still set up with the oil injection system and is hidden under the side bulbous pods under the tank. Hoof, you familiar enough with the 59 Manx to know if those tank additions are stock or something custom?

·
Registered
10,458 Posts
Great to hear that you ended up with the bike.

·
Registered
23,302 Posts
I hear talk of seals being dated and the cases split to repair them.
yup. But you would need the crank rebuilt as well (the seals are on the crank and it needs to be pressed apart and pressed back together). Best way to tell is to do a leakdown test. However if the engine was sealed up this entire time I would chance it that they may still be good. It's a long shot but I have bought triples that have been sitting for years and the crank seals were still good. Crank rebuilds run from $350-600.

Will it hurt if the motor is started with bad seals
Not initially but I wouldn't run it for long. The seals keep the trans oil out of the crankcase. If you have a seal leak the engine will begin to sump trans oil, until it runs out or hydrolocks.

Will it smoke (how would you know).
It will smoke like you are burning your trash while spraying for mosquitoes. seriously your neighbors will think your house is on fire. It will be white/blue oil smoke too since it is burning gear oil.

How does one tell if they need replacing?