Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all...newbie here...hope this is the place for answers.

I'm building an XV920R cafe project. This bike has an "enclosed-chain" drive. A very cool feature that I want to keep. Here's where the problem starts. I want to put wire wheels on, but the only rim that works with the chain enclosure is the stock swirly mag. I heard there are spoked rims that mount the same way, but I have never seen one. The attached photo will probably explain it better than I can. It's from the service manual. Any in sight would really help.(not sure how to attach a photo, so I added the link...hope it works)

Thanks
Larry

http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k376/920Rcafe/920rRIM.jpg

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
you're kidding right?

I'm sure you want help but that is all the picture and info you can come up with for somebody possibly willing to help you?

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
anyhow..... I kinda doubt that the only wheel that can be made to fit that drive is the yamaha mag

and I know for sure that a different pattern/size drive can be grafted onto the final drive

so if you really want spokes on it

you'll probably have to cut some metal if there truly is nothing that will just plug and play

dimensions might be useful in assisting with your search although my experience has been that most people aren't going to unbolt their wheel to see if one on their bike would do it

so might need to take your dims and pattern info to a guy that has lots of wheels laying about

or go to a junkyard yourself

I have a few cush drive wheels and wouldn't be too put out to go measure a few if you have some numbers

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
it doesn't look like there is anything different about the wheel...just the cush drive. Take accurate measurements of the wheels and go to the bike salvage yard and try to find a hub with the same dimension cush drive layout. good luck

·
Registered
274 Posts