Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name is Luke and I'm new to bike builds! I'm looking for recommendations for a bike to build this summer. I've been around engines my whole life, but I'll take any help I can get. I can't wait to get into it! thanks for the help guys!

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
Sigh.

ok....Let's start with the basics:

1) can you ride? do you have a license? do you currently own a bike that runs and you can ride it? <-- if the answer is no to any of these questions, then stop. Forget about your bike project, and go either get a license, a running bike, or both, and practice for a year of operating a motorcycle and not getting killed by a car. Now is actually a great time as the roads are pretty empty due to quarantine (if you are going to ride and not shelter in place - ride to places where there are no people).

2) It's nice that you have been around engines "you whole life" (which I am going to assume is probably somewhere in the neighborhood of 20 years), but motorcycles are not like cars and engines are only a part of the whole equation. How a motorcycle suspension works is very important and something you can only get a feel for by using a motorcycle.

Assuming you haven't fired off an angry tirade at me by now let's get into the basics: