Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I’m new to the whole motorcycle scene. During the pandemic we all had free time so I decided to pick up a new hobby. Learning very slowly but willing. I picked up a 1980 Suzuki GS750E off Facebook. It didn’t start and the wiring was very messy and decided to rip out all the wiring to see if that might be the issue. And this is where my journey begins. I will be asking a lot of questions and hope those who are willing and able can help me through this build. I’ll add photos with this and excuse the mess in the garage and tools scattered around the floor.
008FFB64-7F75-4600-952D-FBD64B9F60FD.jpeg
28103FAD-03C0-4CC7-A9B4-13501AD30CE5.jpeg

the day I got her.
7144AFD5-34C2-4B45-AA2B-F1614EBC0D48.jpeg

Started ripping up the harness after deciding to go with the M-unit blue.

FA1D5C0C-AEAA-43D6-9C80-29EEA7EC2479.jpeg

And this is the current situation now. Forgive the carbon fiber wrap.. I had extra and decided to mess around with it, but bike will be completely painted after I troubleshoot the no start issue.
Question I had since I’m new to motorcycles and building. Why do my front forks not have anywhere to mount the calipers? Sorry if this is a common sense question. And do I just need to get new front forks from the same model? The guy gave me the brake lever, calipers but nowhere to mount them. I’m assuming I need to replace the front forks?
A4FEE34B-0B27-47A0-9833-5B6810059CDD.jpeg

that concludes my intro and thanks for getting this far and I’ll try and post updates whenever I can.

·
Registered
1,944 Posts
Your first goal should have been to get it running. The carbs looked like they were mounted when you got it why are they off now? What was wrong with the wiring harness? You're going to spend more on the M unit than the bike is worth.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·