Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am posting this in hopes that others will share some photos and a few details of their Ascot builds (or even if its stock).

I just got my first motorcycle (actually haven't even picked it up yet).

Its a 1983 Honda Ascot FT500 with 9000 original miles. It has a few aftermarket things already including exhaust, shorter mirrors, shorter carbon fiber turn signals and the paint was changed a little.

I will most likely ride it as is but I can not leave anything alone. I am interested in a CBR600 front end as my first upgrade.

Edit: Yes I am looking to make this into some what of a cafe style bike. I am new to anything cafe thats not from my highschool lunch room. What could I do to give this bike a subtle cafe look?

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
L4NE4, that’s nice dude [^]!! Like the blinkers!! Looks clean!! That bike is good to go. Just keep up with your reg maintenance. Their a real blast to ride… Ya gonna like it!

P.S IMO I would keep the flat tracker look[^]. You have a nice looking bike there.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
L4NE4, that’s nice dude [^]!! Like the blinkers!! Looks clean!! That bike is good to go. Just keep up with your reg maintenance. Their a real blast to ride… Ya gonna like it!

P.S IMO I would keep the flat tracker look[^]. You have a nice looking bike there.

·
Registered
5,780 Posts
I'll post up some pictures tomorrow. Mine is an 82. I have CBR wheels on it with a single Shadow front disc. I had to thin the caliper mount about 1/4 inch to align the caliper and disc. A NT650 Hawk front wheel and disc should actually fit a little better, maybe. I have CBR600F4i rearsets and CB700SC Nighthawk rear shocks. I also have a CB350 round headlight on it.

Ken

·
Registered
5,780 Posts