Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me preface my question with a little background. I have been working on and riding the Honda 350 twins since they first came out new (with a lot of other bikes thrown ). I have always had trouble with the stock carbs on these bikes as most people seem to have. I have a 1973 Honda CL350 now that I have yet to get to run right on the left cylinder. I have built 3 separate left side carbs for this bike and it still will not run on the left side. The compression is 150 psi, the timing is correct, points have been set right, valves have been set and the plug is firing. I am not a newbie to these bikes and I know how to build the carbs and set it up. It obviously sounds like something wrong in the left cyl, but I can assure you I have checked EVERYTHING I can think of. Also the exhaust is stock and the stock airbox is in place. Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,067 Posts
Assuming you have perfect spark... Perfect compression... And perfect fuel flow the bike should be running. If not it's possessed by the devil himself.

Short of that....What's the running condition? ... not firing at all on that cylinder? Backfiring from that cylinder? Intermittent spark from that cylinder? Do you have a timing light? Did you pour gas / starter fluid directly into affected cylinder?

·
Registered
5,527 Posts
Personally I would swap any interchangeable parts from the left side with parts from the right side until the problem moved to the other side :|

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4