Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello CR forum!

I had posted a while back with some engine issues, but with those now solved, I'm moving on to other issues with the bike.
Riding at night has always been a hand-clenching experience on some of the darker back roads as my old sealed beam just
doesn't have the reach.

I know the stock electrical systems on these tend to tank on any headlights pulling above 35w, so I'm trying to gauge my
options. Of those, the more common links I've been running into on forums are low powered H4 conversion kits made by
companies like Candle Power. The brightness and lower draw of LED/HID setups would be nice, but I'm no electrician here. :confused:
So any option that is as plug-and-play as possible appeals greatly. I'd assume that 35w is 35w regardless of the source pulling
it, so provided the H4 kit has that same draw (I believe the sealed beam is rated at 35/25, a Stanley hm-23m-s), should that
still keep the balance of the bike's system?

I'd like to keep the bike as original as possible, but if need be I can look into replacing other parts of the electrical system.
Thanks for any knowledge and opinions dropped as always.

·
Registered
5,706 Posts
:/ the H4 you linked to draws 45 watts on either high or low beam, assuming only one filament is on at any time … that is still higher then the current draw from your original bulb. The relationship is watts = amps times volts

So at 45 watts and 12 volts your amperage will be 3.75 amps, where it was previously (35/12=2.92) 2.92 amps I'm going to take a wild guess that your headlight fuse is a 7 amp fuse and that should suffice, unless both filaments are burning which would draw 7.5 amps and cook a 7 amp fuse. … there is a high beam indicator lamp in there somewhere too, but that's not very power hungry.