Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It might be an obvious answer, but I'm new to the motorcycle world, and I don't know what to search for. I have a Suzuki GS400 from '79 and the yokes on that thing are hideous. So my question is; do triple trees and yokes have specific measurements I can use to find matching triple trees and yokes? Or can I look up motorcycles that use yokes with the same measurements as my bike?

Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
5,708 Posts
Do triple trees and yokes have specific measurements? Yes, many of them and it is not easy to mix and match the triple trees from one motorcycle to another. Their shape and dimension can affect changes in the way the bike handles and in the bikes turning radius if you depart from the original dimensions. Triple trees can be custom built from scratch if you are a very good machinist and have the $ as well as a facility to machine aluminum with great precision. It can also be a good place to add strength to the front fork assembly, or reduce the bikes weight by as much as several ounces.

True story: My father-in-law once welded up a top triple tree for a Yamaha RD200, entirely out of scrap steel plate and pieces of pipe, using only an angle grinder, drill press and a stick welder! It looked like crap but it worked and it did facilitate an economical and much needed repair to the bike.

If you are going to search for substitute parts from other motorcycles at a wrecking yard, the best way to start would be to remove both the top and bottom yokes along with the steering stem as a complete assembly. Take an accurate measure of the front fork stanchions in millimetres (they will usually measure out to an accurate even mm number) I'm going to guess 33mm based on this post:
http://www.caferacer.net/forum/project-builds/14059-triple-tree-fork-conversion-chart.html Then start your extensive search of what might be available in Denmark.