Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Doug...as you can tell.....and I have been riding for about 18 years. I only recently got into the idea of making a cafe racer.....I had been trying to find a bike for the wife to learn to ride on..and got two 1978 CB400a's off ebay for about $220. I was gonna restore her's to stock witha custom paint job she wants, and make mine a CR.

So, the wife, while looking for part bikes for our 1978 CB400A's, Thursday afternoon....sends me an email asking if any parts from "this bike"( link attached in email) will fit our bikes.

I open the ad, and its for a 1977 CB750K, for $150...and within 1/2 hour from our house. I jump on it..send an email to the guy even before replying the wife's email. I told him I would take it.......I am not a CB aficionado....but I figured this thing was a deal...and would make a much better platform for my CRP...cafe race project.

I am calling a half hour later and setting up a time to meet up Saturday. I am coming back from post office this morning...shipping out some packages.....and the guy is calling me to confirm time. Went over there with truck and trailer about 2:30 this afternoon...and got the bike loaded up.

Its obviously gonna need some parts..but most important stuff seems to be there...wheels, tires, shocks, frame motor, sans clutch...has some parts in a box ...and has has the title.....woo hoo.

here she is:

But wait, it gets better. I mention to the guy that I was already looking on ebay for some parts...I knew from the CL ad, it needed bodywork...and a tank. While I am loading up the bike and we are talking....a lightbulb goes off with the guy..and he says he remembers he knows that one of his buddies....like a mile away, has a tank for sale. he calls the guy and says we can head over there after getting the bike loaded up...so we do.