Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon fellas (and maybe some butch ladies), I'm a complete noob to everything on two wheels. Just scooped up an '82 Honda CM250 Custom. I f'ing hate the bars on it now, I need to swap them out for some clip ons (not clubmans because they are quite gay). Just need to know how I can find the fork size

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
IIRC 33mm. You can always check the size by going into your local bike parts store and asking what the fork seal inside diameter is - most parts books have that info.

Low bars are not what makes you gay or not - it is low bars without rearsets. uncomfortable riding positions are always gonna be gay.

if I recall your cm250 custom is a chopper looking thing, right? Rather than clipons or clubmans let me recommend a set of drag bars. Then strip all the crap off the bike that is unnecessary. a seat, some forks, and a motor ...yeah that is all you really need.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, it's kinda chopperesque. I picked it up yesterday and immediately ripped the luggage rack off the back, and did a little turn indicator shortening. Now the only problem is getting the beast running. She's got 4,700 miles on the clock, a brand new battery, and new sparkplugs. Just can't get her to start up, I'm thinking giving the carb a good cleaning should do the trick. I really love the whole cafe vintage race scene, so that's the style I'm going for. So far the list of mods is going to be adding on the cafe seat, the clip ons, and A LOT</u> of TLC. Since I can't seem to find a Clymers for my specific model, I have a feeling you guys will be helping me out quite a bit.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
quote:Originally posted by parks61

contrary to the far right, being gay has nothing to do with what bars you choose.
-parks
sometimes it depends on the bar - like if you hang out at the gay bar chances are you are gay.