Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
699 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, most of you guys have seen my build up of my RD over the last few months and now I am stuck. My best friend is a machinist and said he would build my rear set mounts for me (i bought universal rearsets since nobody has good looking RD rearsets after motocarrera went under) and now that it has come to that time, he is busy building race motors for amatuer nationals coming at the end of june. So basically, the only thing that is keeping me off of the road right now are rear set mounts. I am a drafter/designer by trade and plan on putting my design on paper, i just need some one here who can either machine aluminum or will cut the plates out of steel for me. I didn't want to use steel, but i am desperate at this point. As with most of the cafe fellows here, i don't have a lot of money to spend to do this, so really i am asking for somebody to donate some time to help get me on the road. any takers? thank you so much!

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
i just made these for a guy. i don't have a lathe or cnc or anything, but with a drill press, band saw, and grinder and a tap and die set this is what i made.

Give it a shot yourself. or email me the plans and i'll try to help you out if you want.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
got any pics of the backside? measurements? what did you use for the clamps, exhaust clamps?

feel like making another set of the plates/clamps?

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
rubber coated u bolts (to prevent scratching the frame paint) and the i take 3/4" alum and cut a half moon in it for the other side with holes drilled all the way thru for the u bolts to go thru.
i do have another set made. what color would you like? all black? black brackets polished plates (like the picture) or all chrome powder coat? or magenta?

·
Registered
23,303 Posts