Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I know that Im gonna have to listen to someone tell me how dumb i am and how im a half rate hack and that if i wasnt such a piece of doodoo id fix my bike on my own without any help. But im gonna post this any way.

Bike is a 73' CB750, with pods and a 4-1.

So.... I put new points on the bike and timed them. Replaced the plugs, added some oil, and put gas in tank. The bike started and sounded ok idling. I started riding it and it ran like donkey balls. Stutters and has very little power. Seems like its running on only 2 or 3 cylinders, if thats possible.

Im calling cylinders 1,2,3,4 from left to right.

When the bike is running you can feel that only cylinders 1 and 4 are getting hot. Cylinders 2 and 3 are hardly warm. The plugs in 2 and 3 will foul black quickly. With new plugs it'll run fine for a little and then start to foul. The mixture on the carbs is real light, so i dont think its just running rich.

I cant tell if its maybe a timing problem or if I have a bad coil. All plugs are getting spark but i dont know how to make sure 2 and 3 are getting enough.

One thing im curious about is the petcock. If the petcock is turned to on gas will only flow from the left nipple freely. If i plug the left side gas will come out of the right. I thought maybe this was part of the problem, but the left nipple runs to carbs 1 and 2, and the right nipple runs to 3 and 4. If gas wasnt coming out of the right nipple when running then I wouldnt have cylinder 4 running fine like it is, so I dont think thats the problem.

I think its a coil problem, i think one is not firing hot enough. That would explain why 1 and 4 run fine and 2 and 3 foul, i think. Also one of the coils looks to be newer than the other. How can I tell if its factory?

Any help would be appreciated.

My CB750 Project:
http://www.caferacer.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4739

·
Registered
2,595 Posts