Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Good day Nico here, I'm new to the community and looking for some guidance on possibly my first BMW CR purchase. I'm a novice on motorcycles and don't want to be taken for a 'ride'馃槈

The bike I'm looking at is a R100RS BMW 1983 R Series. Apparently 100 K's on clock for R79 000?. See specs and pics below, I need to know what questions to ask and if the price is in line. Please help馃檶

Recently converted and restored BMW Cafe Racer. She's the most desirable of the airhead models, the R100RS with the benefit of the front oil cooler.
  • Full soft tail conversion with adjustable shocks
  • LED Headlight, Tail Lights & Indicators
  • Wider Handle Bars, New Grips & Built in Mirrors
  • Acewell Speedo / Rev Counter Unit
  • Custom Seat, Hidden Battery & Custom Airbox Eliminator
  • Custom Exhaust
  • Custom Seat in Genuine Cognac Leather
Resprayed in the original BMW gunmetal grey over matt black.

Attachments

Registered
Best advice you could possibly get is do not buy a motorcycle that has been CR modified by somebody else. The person that chopped it is the only guy that sees any increased value in a POS CR. These guys want more money for these 'creations' then the original bike is or was worth and all they did was remove stuff and paint what is left black.
Do you see Any one single upgrade there that is worth extra money? I see something that looks more like an abortion.

Keep shopping (y) there are still lots of un-*****d motorcycles out there.

Registered
"Acewell Speedo / Rev Counter Unit" They didn't come with one of those, so the odometer reading means absolutely nothing. ... except you know roughly how far the instrument cluster has traveled.

"Custom Exhaust" Translation: not street legal in any developed country.

"Custom Seat, Hidden Battery & Custom Airbox Eliminator"