Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm new to the website but looking for some advice and hopefully some of you guys can help me identify what some of these parts are so I can try to replicate on my interceptor 650.

A. What type of tyres are these and size? They appear bigger and fill the arch well. I would be looking at keeping the standard rims. Possibly spraying them black as pictured.

B. Looking for a bench style seat as shown in pics and a bates style tail light. Any recommendations? BAAK do a smart shorty seat (no welding) but not keen on cutting the frame.

Apologies if any of the above is silly but I'm sure you can tell I'm pretty new to all this. Any help and advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,243 Posts
I can tell you why the hugely heavy oversize front tire is a bad thing to put on it.

Just wait until you go over a bumpy railway track crossing and see how much more the front wheel makes your frame and forks, twist wiggle and shake.

·
Registered
6,243 Posts
Not to mention that it wasn't designed for that rim profile so a flat front tire
... you ever had one of those? flat front tire.

Your tire may well come completely off the rim when that happens and that would seriously suck.
Make the saddle,
use real leather glued onto naugahyde to make it waterproof. It makes an awesome good saddle. the tuck and roll treatment would be almost impossible to home brew nicely.

·
Registered
6,243 Posts
Look at how dinky the front axle is
and it has a 2 pot front brake, that's unacceptable if you want it to stop good.

Not hard to see where you could improve the bike.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys, that's the sort of advise needed. Safety overrules looks any day so won't be pursuing the tyres.

Re seat, il look into making one. Thanks.

·
Registered
6,243 Posts
For that bike, spend your money on front brake and suspension upgrades,