Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been wanting a cafe for a while now, finally started looking around and found one that looks promising. I don't know how much is a fair price and wanted some opinions. I am a pretty good mechanic but I've never opened an engine or carbs (I fix furnaces and a/c) and I don't really have any room to totally take apart a bike (single car garage with 2 bikes already and car) and I don't have any fabrication tools but my granpa does. So I am torn between buying a project bike and one that is somewhat finished. The one I have my eye on is somewhat finished but I would still like to change it a bit.

The bike I am looking at is actually just down the street from me its a 72 cb450. Anything I should know about these bikes? Are parts hard to get or impossible? Would it be good for a first cafe? Unfortunately it would have to stay outside but under a covered patio with a cover so it won't get wet, would the bike be ok like that? I've never owned an old bike before so I don't know what I'm getting into.

Anyway, here is the bike.

http://seattle.craigslist.org/skc/mcy/805318813.html

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
10,737 Posts
seems a little HIGH in price.

gotta be other things out there, that are running, which you can bolt on parts to.....

i'd probably pass.

tex

·
Registered
156 Posts
that thing is a piece of shit for that amount of dough.

it looks like a project bike, and they dont cost $2500

I got my 350 for $200, it runs and has only 5000 miles on it, I'll be putting about $1000 into it and it'll look perfect.

Imagine yourself doing the same and NOT buying something like that

·
Registered
42 Posts