Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It seems a year or so ago someone here or on the USCRA board was talking about riding a bike from Texas down into central america.

While I am not going that far, I plan on entering Mexico at the Pharr/Reynosa bridge and then driving as far as I can into Mexico in one day, hang out a day, then drive back to meet a mission team I am leading. We build little houses in poor neighborhoods, and this year dodge bullets from the cartel wars.

Anyone here ever been a ways into Mexico??--I am looking for a colonial mountain village, nice plaza with a church on one end and a small cheap hotel on the other, a nice outside resturant to enjoy a cervesa or two, served by tall thin darkeyed senoritas.........., or maybe the same thing on the beach with the beer served by a tall thin darkeyed senorita in a bikini....

I have been spending a month each year in Mexico for the past 10 years, but never got more than 30 miles inland.

Jack

Edited by - Jackc on Feb 06 2008 8:51:11 PM

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Jack: I use to read blogs off of this site awhile back and contemplated writing a few about my trips around southern South America on my yamaha 125. Anyway, there are a few good stories about trips into Mexico. Too bad you can't get to la Barranca del Cobre (Copper Canyon) in one day from your entry point. That place is neat.

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/gregfrazier/news/2002-11-30.shtml

exhito, mi hermano. Vios con suerte y cervesa, por si tu tienes los dos, tu no necesitas el dios. Basta! Basta!

Pedro!

Yeller'
---
"People are more violently opposed to fur than leather because it's safer to harass rich women than motorcycle gangs”

Edited by - Pete Casper on Feb 07 2008 12:40:58 PM

Edited by - Pete Casper on Feb 07 2008 12:43:56 PM

·
Registered
13,809 Posts