Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm 17 and I just purchased a 1979 cb750k DOHC in about a million pieces. I'm new to building bikes in general and I'm having a little trouble figuring out how the front motor mount closest to the neck is supposed to be situated. If anyone owns a '79 and is willing to post or send me some pictures of that front motor mount I would really appreciate that. My main problem right now is that I have the "hangars", for lack of a better term, attached on both sides of the frame, but when I slide the bolt through, it seems like its about an inch too long. I don't know if I'm using the wrong bolt, if I'm missing some sort of spacer or bushing, or if my hangars are incorrectly mounted. Any advice, or especially pictures of the motor mounts on a '79 will be very helpful. Thanks. (this is my first time posting on a forum like this so please don't bash me if i don't know the etiquette or what not).

·
Registered
2,353 Posts
Do you have a clymer or Haynes manual for the bike?

·
Registered
6,459 Posts
Tried to think of some kind and constructive advice I could offer you and it came down to this: Your next first motorcycle (the one to learn to wrench and ride on) should probably have 1 cylinder, 1 carburetor and in a perfect world it should be complete and running when you purchase it. Put that CB750K basket case in a storage unit until your retirement when you need something to consume all your spare time and disposable income.

·
Registered
1,812 Posts