Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I bought it had been outside about a year in new mexico, only rust by battery box (no breather tube for battery), oil grime, not chopped or made to look stupid.

I bought it off CL for $250. Turns over. Havent been able to test engine because of electrical issues. So far, I've cleaned/fixed the wiring harness. New Starter solenoid, speedo cable. disassembled. cleaned frame, prep for paint. hope to paint tonight. then start cleaning/replacing some of the parts I took off.

Thinking of buying a ural headlight setup (with the speedo/indicator lights in the bucket), clip-ons, signal lights...other than the oil leak, im hoping the motor is in good shape. This is my first project, so any help or ideas will be appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So, I have some picture of the bike ALMOST right after i bought it. it did have the side covers and seat and headlight and wiring intact...by the time of these photos i had already begun disassembly. This gives you some idea: its in pretty good shape, but the harness was problematic, and there was a lot of acid rust and oil grime.

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i repainted the frame the other day and some other pieces yesterday, started piecing it back together today...you can see my paint job here, and a pic of the motor. it needs to be cleaned; havent been able to try starting yet, since the wiring had issues but it turns over. im not planning to do any engine work. wanna actually ride it before winter.

i know its not much to look at yet, but thats where i am. thanks! this is my first project so advice is very, very welcome.

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
pinche, hey, nice to know theres at least one more out there!

questions:
1. where'd you get that seat set up? or did you fab?
2. what filters did you use on carbs/crankcase breather to replace stock?