Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I just picked up a 1969 Yamaha R3 350, so I figured I'd join here to expand my knowledge. I'm new to the 2-cycle game, and hoping this bike will be a fun project.

Not too much planned at the moment, aside from sorting out a transmission issue and getting a proper 2-cycle exhaust. I'm finding that parts are very hard to find for this bike, but I like a challenge.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
...1969 Yamaha R3 350... I'm finding that parts are very hard to find for this bike,
understatement of the week.

Restore the bike as best you can. Don't hack up something that won't exist in a couple more years.

·
Registered
2,107 Posts
Hello all. I just picked up a 1969 Yamaha R3 350, so I figured I'd join here to expand my knowledge. I'm new to the 2-cycle game, and hoping this bike will be a fun project.

Not too much planned at the moment, aside from sorting out a transmission issue and getting a proper 2-cycle exhaust. I'm finding that parts are very hard to find for this bike, but I like a challenge.
When you figure out what you need, let me know. I sold my TR2, but still have a few bits and pieces that interchange with R3. Somewhere I have the remains of a R3 engine that I bought for backup parts.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
When you figure out what you need, let me know. I sold my TR2, but still have a few bits and pieces that interchange with R3. Somewhere I have the remains of a R3 engine that I bought for backup parts.
Do you have any airbox parts that might work? The housing for the air filter is there, but I'm missing the filter and the rubber joints that connect to the carbs. As of now, my thought is to remove the housing and install a couple stubby pod filters.