Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up guys?

I have a '76 cb550f that I'm cafe-ing not to race so much... more for the culture I guess.. anywhoo... I was wanting to find some alternate intake options... pod mods if you will... but I can't seem to find anything but chinese emgo crap on the net...

if you could post some links or ideas for some better options that would be awesome... I'm a poor college student but I dont want crap on my bike... and i would like the added HP... and also if anyone has or knows where I could buy an oversized rear sprocket without having to get one custom made that would be beneficial too.. thanks alot

-Matt

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
if you don't want crap on your bike then forget pods all together and stick with the stock airbox, nothing seems to work better for a street bike. And no you wont get more hp with pods. If you absolutley simply must have pods for your "culture" ride then go with uni or K&N. K&N used to make a replacement high flow filter for the cb550 airbox, don't know if they still do but if you can get your hands on one it is an improvement.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks man... If I do go with pods you think it will lower the HP at all??

·
Registered
699 Posts
hey man, you are going to HAVE to learn the search function. we have discussed pod mods till we are all blue in the face. i don't mean to be a total ass, just trying to save you some trouble later on. cliff notes on pods + 550: unless you are a jetting genius, you will NEVER get the bike to run right with the pods. there is air turbulence in the pod area, and the carbs don't like it. now, there is a set up on dotheton that impressed several members (including me) here. we have a link ot it in the general forum.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts