Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i've been lurking more or less for a week. Pretty cool place though.
My background is working on cars, specificly subaru's, and rally cross and road racing.

I'm looking to build my own CB350 as a cafe racer just for kicks. I enjoy the building part as much as anything.
Also, i'm doing grad research on "something with two wheels" which will hopefully turn into some kind of fun motorcycle or commuter bike.

anyway, since i'm new, i have a lot to learn. Any books you can point me to, or knowledge to give, would be very welcomed. I just got back from the library and kinda failed at finding anything really useful (in about 20 min of searching haha).
this post is getting long...

anyway, right now i'm really interested in finding out more on:
cafe racer history
frame design
suspension geometry

i really want to understand what more or less rake will do, same with trail, wheelbase, etc. when it comes to riding feel. That kinda stuff.

·
Registered
13,809 Posts
go to eurospares.com

check out the books section. everything you could ever want to know is there.

see you in 50 years.

jc

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
you will find more on the net then a book as far as cafe style bikes go.As a matter of fact bike mags just the past two years have been catching up with sprinkling of cafe articals sneeking up.
ace cafe london has a great library of pictures to give you ideas of what cafe bikes should look like for street use.
Branson builds race bikes(clever Dog Racing) and is very technical minded,Geeto is the historian and parts interchange guy .So stay here and learn cheaper then a book and more fun.
And welcome.

Im so far behind ,that I think Im in first.

·
Premium Member
10,737 Posts
books won't call you a fucktard (but we might)!

get a subscription to motorcyclist and classic bike or classic racer.

follow joe's advice and check out michael moore's eurospares site.