Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1980 BMW R65
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, new member here.
I was recently gifted this 1980 BMW R65 from a friend (with title that I am currently changing over) and I am seeking advice on restoring it to running order, with the hope of modifying it in the near future. I am new to motorcycles and only know basic car maintenance, but I am eager to learn.

The friend said it was running as of last year, when he and his friend would occasionally trade off taking it out on the road. I know it needs a few things to get it back in good shape:

Battery- might just need a recharge, but is about two years old and may need to be replaced

Brakes- friend said the master cylinder probably needs replaced

Tank- something was dropped on the tank at some point. Friend does paintless dent repair and didn't think it could be/is worth fixing without stripping the paint (and matching it to the rest would be difficult). He said he inspected the inside and never noticed rust in the fuel filter, so it's probably good to run, but looks ugly. I plan to replace it in the future when I begin modifying it.

Carbs- recently (as of last year when it was running) cleaned, friend said he would help me redo them if I wanted

Exhaust- friend said something was wrong with the headers (bent or cracked or some such) and the mufflers wouldn't slip on properly, so the owner before him welded them. I have another friend willing to help me clean up and reweld them better. I would prefer to have them decently fixed, as I plan to ride these for a while, possibly keep them in the final build, but I can consider replacing.