Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'll introduce myself first: I'm a student from the Netherlands. I've previously build a CX 500 caferacer, a cx 500 chopper and I am currently building a XV 920 chopper and a BMW R80 caferacer. Both choppers are project that I do togheter with a friend of mine. Both caferacers are 100% mine. I became a member of this forum because I couldn't find a decent Dutch (or even european) caferacer forum and I am looking for things to improve on my bike.

As I said, my current project is a '88 BMW R80. This is how I bought it:

not a bike I would describe as being beautifull....

This is where it is now:

Since the pictures were taken I made a few changes. I polished the horizontal cooling fins on the valve covers and I wrapped the exhaust with light-brown exhaust tape.

I've got a brown leather sadle on the way and I've still got to change the paintjob of the tank.

I'm also looking for ideas, mainly for what to do with the battery (removing it and doing push starts is not an option), what to do with the airbox (I do have some ideas about that) and how to give it a bit of a racyer look all around. So if you've got any ideas.......

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Nice beemer, MIOB. Looks like you've removed a lot of weight from it.

I am also looking to change the airbox on my beemer (R90/6), and a better place to put the battery. Let us know if you get any ideas for that.

·
Premium Member
1,645 Posts
very neat. where's the pics of the other bikes?

will the bmw run without a battery? is it magnetor or alternator?

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
I'll see if I can dig up pix of the permanent magnet alternator setup I did for an earlier boxer

easy enough to do or you can buy a kit to rid yourself of the excited rotor alternator

however, the stock one can, with the correct relay and capacitor

be made to work without a battery