Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, looking forward to getting involved with the community here.

I'm new to the scene and am looking to get a bike.
Of course I'm planning on taking a course at West Side Motorcycle Academy first...

I wanted to get your opinion on a couple bikes I'm looking at.

The first is a 1976 BMW R90/6 custom that I came across in Nashville (my brother lives there). Hopefully the picture attaches

Here's the posting:
900cc Air Head beast with straight pipes. Professionally built by Cycle Concepts. R6 Mono Shock Digital All in one gauge for tach & speedometer. You will not find a sleeker, no frills bad boy bike like this around. Lester Mag wheels, with New Bridgestone Spit Fires. New Ballistic Lipo Battery. Runs perfect needs nothing but a rider. $5,300 obo. Title in hand. Cash only.

I'm factoring in shipping costs and have a number in mind.

Any first impressions for a newbie?

IMG_8575.jpeg

·
Registered
10,458 Posts
Lot of $ for a bike with no seat............
Sure does have that "hipster bait" look.

Wonder if they did any of the math for the shock....or even know what math to do

·
Registered
23,302 Posts
Your first bike should be:

1) reliable
2) bone stock
3) easy to work on
4) well maintained
5) safe
6) fit your physical frame
7) fit your comfort level

Now look at this bike you posted and tell me which of these you think it is:
10786d1416864683-new-member-la-img_8575.jpeg

It's ok....I'll wait.....Think hard.....

ok, ready for the answers?:

1) reliable - Ok it is a BMW airhead which I have heard is more reliable than some rocks (not my experience but they sure are durable). However it is also a custom and that means any inherent reliable is now at the whim of the quality of the work done. Which makes this an unknown quantity. So No.

2) bone stock - No. I mean really you saw this coming, right?