Cafe Racer Forum banner

New Member from LA

9K views 54 replies 13 participants last post by  VIC-14 
#1 ·
Hello all,

My name is Vic and I am brand new to the hobby as well as this forum. Right now I'm saving up to buy my first bike and do my first build. I don't have a lot of money but after reading a few threads before registering I get the feeling I don't need to throw cash at my project in order for it to turn into a good bike (which is a relief). I've done a bit of research into what a cafe racer bike is and how it came about but I want to learn more, especially from guys who have decades of experience.

That said which bikes would be good for a beginner that after riding for a few months I can turn into a good cafe racer? What magazines, websites, blogs, or other forums do you guys know of that could help me learn more about motorcycle mechanics and this hobby? All suggestions/comments/thoughts are welcome. I might be a newbie but I want to learn how to do things the right way.

Discussion starter · #8 ·
How did this place give you the impression you don't need to spend much money?
I don't think I made myself clear. I know I will need to spend money on this build just not all at once. After reading a few threads the route I plan to take for this bike is: buy a solid running bike that still needs help in some areas, ride it, then after I get a good feel for the machine fix a part of the bike, then keep riding it, making small changes here and there as I go. Instead of buying a bunch of fancy parts and slapping on the bike without ever having taken it out. I'll still be spending a good sum, don't get me wrong, but on quality parts I'll know the bike needs.

Discussion starter · #9 ·
Hey Vic,
You a really big guy or a really small guy ?:I

The best way to learn all about motorcycles is to get involved in the amateur motorcycle competition of your choice,