Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Name's Jeremy. I'm completely new to the world of bikes, let alone cafe racers - but I'm anxious to learn. Picked up my first bike about a month ago and I'm already anxious to move on to the next one. I picked up a 99' Suzuki GZ250 for cheap to learn the ropes on - I was told it was a good ride to start out on. In retrospect, I wish I would have held out for a standard, since I've got my eye on a Bonneville or Thruxton in the near future.

In just the short while I've been researching and exploring the world of motorcycles, I've found myself drawn to cafe racers. I have no real experience modding a bike at all - don't even really have the proper tools for it yet. But I'm anxious to get started. I've got some time before I'm going to be able to get my next bike - I'm sure I'll be digging through these forums for all the tips I can find.

My first question is this:
I'm torn between the Bonneville and the Thruxton. I love the cafe racer style of the Thruxton, but I really want a two seater to cart my better half and kids around. So would I be better off picking up a Bonnie and modifying it slightly (bars, rear-pegs, etc) to the cafe look. Or would I be better off picking up a Thruxton and modifying the seat for two?

I've toyed with the idea of just picking up a cheap bike and attempting to rebuild it to my liking, but I think I might hold off on that endeavor until after I have a reliable bike that I've learned the ins and outs of in my garage for daily use.

I'm also open to the notion that I'm thinking about this all wrong. I welcome your input.

Jeremy

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Welcome fellow west michigan person. The general sentiment will be to buy a rider. Something you could drive home. Ride it for a year or so while you build up tools and experience. Sounds like you have something you can ride?

·
Registered
23,303 Posts