Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys and gals... I am new to bikes and new to the forum. I am about to purchase my first bike and have been drawn to the cafe style bikes. I found one I am very interested in, but I wanted to run it by the experts...

I am about 6 foot tall 225 pounds or so... I found a '73 Honda CL350. This would be my first bike and first cafe, so do you guys think that thing will haul my fat behind around ok? The other option I have is buying a CX500 Custom from a guy who has owned it for 20+ years and just bought a new one. The CX500 is totally stock, so it's a clean slate to build a cafe just the way I want it.

Thanks,
Ben

·
Registered
187 Posts
Yes the 350 will be able to handle you no problem. You are not going to set any land speed records with it but it will be a great first bike. You will eventually out grow it but for now it will be fine. Good luck and welcome to the two wheeled world

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
The 350's a great bike to learn on.

On the other hand, the CX may fit you better.

Being new to bikes, I'd recommend you consider the price and condition of each bike. Buying a project when you don't even know how to ride yet is a case of wallet-shock/burn-out waiting to happen.

It sounds like the CX is a runner (and a one-owner at that). Its a nice, sensible first bike--powerful enough to get you around town and small enough that you shouldn't get into too much trouble. You could get it, ride it and sell it next season, and probably not lose much money in the process.

Whatever you do, get the bike that RUNS.

As far as cafe'ing a CX? Well, how creative are you? You're gonna need to be a bit more "artistic" in your approach to a CX than you would a CL.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
I am 6'5 and 280lbs and I commuted on a cj360. It wasn't super comfy or fast at all and I had no pretentions about breaking a ton but I could do 80 on it.