Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i am completely new to this however its something i have been wanting to do for a while. I recently purchased a 1974 honda cl200 runs great looks great, however i would like to convert it into some what of a cafe racer. Nothing to extreme but i have no idea where to look for parts or even what to do. Any suggestions would be great appreciated.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Ill list what we need to help you.

Fill out bio.
Riding Experience?
Mechanical Experience?
Photo? (The bike, not you)
What do you plan on using the bike for?
Does it run?
Miles?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've been riding friends bikes for a while but this is my first time to own. I'm not looking for speed this is just for work and recreation.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
The general sentiment here will be to get it running well, make it safe (shocks, rubber, brakes, chain), ride it for the year as is. Get to know it. Find out what is right, what is wrong. And then next winter make the mechanical and aesthetic changes.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I actually came across a pretty good deal, I bought it from an old man in a small town he thought it was seized. Hasn't been tagged since 90. Bought it for 800 cash, took it home checked it out turns out the starter was sticking. So I replaced it and cleaned out the tank runs perfect havnt had any problems been driving it for 2 years now.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Yeah but I really just want to put a new seat on it and low profile brake light. But I have no idea where to look? Any good websites

·
Registered
5,780 Posts