Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. So I posted a reply in a thread about myself and was told it would be easier to start my own thread. I didn't at first because I wasn't sure how but I got it now. So I'm new to the bike world and I needed some brutal advice (which I already got so keep it coming) I'm four feet eleven inches and I'm about 90 pounds. What's a good beginner bike to learn to ride AND build? I have been looking at some Honda cb's and some Suzuki ts185 and a few others. I'm not sure is a Honda cb350 is too big or a 100-200 is too small? Anything advice is greatly appreciated!

·
Banned
4,894 Posts
At five foot you are about the size of the Japanese guys who designed and manufactured the motorcycles you are most likely interested in buying. So most Jap bikes will suit you.

"What's a good beginner bike to learn to ride AND build?". Your first bike is for learning to survive in traffic, learning to ride and learning maintain a cheap motorcycle. The " build " comes later, and probably the second or third bike.

Go book an MSF type course. Dreamings great, but go take some concrete steps.

Danger, is my business."

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yea that's what I figured about the height. It's a good slap in the face reality to hear that too. I gotta take a step back and learn first before I build. I still want a cheap little bike that might need some restoring but nothing too crazy. Is that out of the question too? Or should I buy a cheap all out together one ?

·
Banned
4,894 Posts
Forget restoring your first bike. You need a runner, a first starter, with a valid title.

Unless you plan on pushing a GoldWing down a muddy road, your size is not really an issue: riding skills are.

Gaston Rahier was about four foot nothing and probably was the fastest Dakar rider of his generation.

gaston10.jpg

Danger, is my business."

·
Registered
10,459 Posts