Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need a new chain since I installed my CB650 wheels and the rear gear is a 40T compared to 35 on the CM400T's rear wheel. I was hoping I could swap gears but as I found out. Everything on the 650's wheel is bigger compared to the 400's...axle, drum hub and rear gear... I got the drum covered, swingarm ground out to fit the 650's axle. I just decided to get a new chain since the old one well is old and pretty rusty and notice it already has two master links on it which I thought was kinda weird. I don't do any racing or really beat that hard and hell, I've yet to get over 65 on the bike. Do I really need an O-ring chain or a non o-ring. Do they last longer or less maint. needed? I'm fairly new to cycles so this is new to me. I suppose I could get a smaller gear but the stock chain is pretty nasty and is the 25 extra bucks worth it? 50 for an o-ring and 25 for a non.

·
Registered
5,780 Posts
Going up 5 teeth in the rear is really going to affect your speed. I would recommend that you get a smaller rear sprocket for the 650 wheel if you can find one and get a new non-o-ring chain. You might as well replace the front sprocket while you are at it. New chains and sprockets if properly lubed and adjusted will last a really long time on a 400. I would try to keep your gear ratio close to stock, unless the overall diameter of the 650 wheel and tire is significantly different from the 400. Then you will need to adjust accordingly.

Ken

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is that something that a Honda stealership or a bike shop would stock or an ebay item most likely? Or can I pull it off another bike? Like I said the CM400's rear gear wouldn't fit unless I bored out the center of the gear a good half inch and then enlarged the holes for the bolts that hold it to the hub?

·
Registered
5,780 Posts