Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Well..... I picked the bike up for about $300..... so far I’ve cleaned the carbs is about it.... but I’m not sure what to do with it......
F6055190-C24B-4E8B-A3F8-B7ABFC582968_1547567609731.jpeg 74719380-BA67-4624-901E-6253C7FFDB65_1547567560679.jpeg
I’ve been riding for about 40 years and picked this up because it was a bike I wanted in my younger days... it came complete with a Hondaline fairing..... but.... I’m not sure I want to go back to original. It just looks too bulky.....

When I was a kid... I started to make a CB175 into a cafe racer (....which meant I bought a JC WHITNEY fairing and “racing” bars”.... I thought I might try it again...

Unfortunately I’ve rebuilt cars and tractors, but never a motorcycle.... Do you think the Sabre would be a bit too much ?????

·
Registered
2,937 Posts
I'd leave the cafe racer aspirations for now and focus on getting it running reliably and safely. Does it have a title? That could be a job stopper for most of us.

If it runs, it will probably need new tires and cables and a carb strip ( I don't know what your carb clean included) and that assumes the motor is OK. If it runs, give it a complete service and fresh rubber and go and ride it when the weather allows that. While you are racking up the miles, that's the time to think about things you want to change.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks.... yes I’ve done the carb strip... Diaphrams look good and all..... I am a little worried about syncing them (....since everything else I have done has had one carb).
I understand what you are saying about getting it running first.....and I will. It’s just if I go to the V4 site they will all say to restore it (having searched other posts). To me, this is a common production bike right? ....and the motor has some cam issues? I’m wondering if it’s worth messing with, or should I look at a CB or CX...