Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a 72 honda 175. I want to trick it out cafe style, but don't know if it's worth it. The bike runs fine, but I can't even find any pics of what it could look like on the web. And parts seem to be kinda hard to find.

simon01

·
Registered
1 Posts
Dud, If you worried about it being worth it you are probably in the wrong hobby. I have a CB750 that I'v had over six years and probably got over 1000 dollars in it and it's all over the place. I can't even take a picture of it. When I get done...hell I'll never get done because I do it because I love it. Make it your own. I also have a rd200 that's a work in progress also but a blast to ride.

Doc

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just don't know where to start on it. As you can probably tell I'm new to this, and am worried that it's to small. i enjoy riding it and love the cafe look, but like i said i don't know where to start on it.

simon01

·
Registered
278 Posts
It's worth it. The cool thing about the little ones is that they've got some small-ass frames. 60 on my CB200 is more entertaining than 100 on my souped up 450/500 hybrid. I'd start by fixing it. What's not quite right? Speed wobble? Fouls plugs in traffic? Drips gas from the petcock or overflow tubes? By the the time you finish with that, you'll have trawled enough forums and seen enough pics to know what you can do with it.

Meanwhile, if it's the look you want, I'd start by giving it a big fuckoff hole under the seat where the battery/air box/electrics used to be. You do that by losing the side covers, replacing the air box with pods of some sort, hiding the battery somewhere (SLAs are good for that), and moving the electrics, usually up under the seat. That'll get you a good way toward that classic british minimalist thing.

A

·
Registered
687 Posts
is it a cb or a cl? can you give us some photo's?