Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

As 16 year old I rode around London in the early 1960s with a bunch of friends, on 500s and 650s, mostly BSA and Triumphs and somehow survived the era. Now with 9 grand children I want create a cafe racer to bring back some of the style and nostalgia of the era. I was an engineer and race bike mechanic back then, recently spent some years racing cars and still reasonably handy with a spanner. I joined this site to learn from people who have done it and done it well and will look forward to reading others experiences. I have just bought a Suzuki GSX550 to get started with. Air cooled, reasonable looks, good power and seems a simple reliable bike to cut my teeth on.

I'm Looking forward to getting started on the project and getting feedback.

·
Registered
477 Posts
Cut your teeth? I think that's already been done long ago...sounds more like you are going to sharpen them. Looking forward to more posts. Welcome!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Welcome!

do you have any pictures of the bikes you used to have?
Thanks for asking.

Unfortunately I have no photos of that time. In those days cameras were for enthusiasts and pros.

The best I can do is post stock photos - my bikes looked identical, the mods I did were lowering the gearing and tuning, for better acceleration. Did not even change mufflers as they were straight through as stock. Edit: just remembered I did replace handles bars on A7 first to Ace bars then clip ons.

My main two bikes of that time 1961-1965 were:

1956 BSA A7 Shooting Star (500 twin)
image.jpg

1954 BSA Gold Star (500 single)
image.jpg