Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody have any expirence with structural plastics? Would you trust a set of rearsets made out of high density plastic rather than aluminum? would it be cheaper to make them?

lets hear some thoughts.

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
I have no experience with plastics, so this is probably just blather:

When you stand up on one footpeg to kickstart your bike, there's a lot of downward force applied where the footpeg is mounted to the frame. I think footpeg mounts made from ABS plastic or PVC plastic or even polycarbonate would just sheer off, due to that force. I suppose you could make them huge and strong enough, but they would look too big on a bike.

Pultruded fiberglass might be strong enough. "Pultruded" means that oriented-strand glass fibers and catalyzed resin are pulled into a mold, where they are left to harden. They make window frames and other contoured fiberglass parts that way.

·
Registered
147 Posts
This is just a guess since I have zero experience with plastics or rearsets (yet), but I think if they can make firearms out of plastic, they can probably make rearsets. I doubt they would be cost effective though.

The best kind of justice is angry mob justice.

·
Premium Member
1,645 Posts
A composite material, such as boron/carbon fiber in extruded plastic matrix might do it, and you could injection-mold it, but the costs of the equipment necessary, and the tooling required are considerable. It really only makes sense in very large quantities. I suspect that's one of the reasons why metal still reigns here.

My CB450 project:
http://www.caferacer.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2827

·
Registered
266 Posts
How about plastic molded around a thin but very strong metal piece for the foot peg itself? I think a good set of rear sets machined from aircraft grade aluminum would be nearly as light and probably a lot easier to come by.