Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Basically, I took it out for the first test ride. I zipped up and down a parking lot beside my house and everything was running good. So I decided to give 'er and go for a real ride. After 2 mins, the left side back fired a couple times and died when pulling away from a stop. Here is everything I've done to try and get it going.

I'm still new at this motorcycle repair thing so please let me know what I missed.

Checked plug gap - adjusted to spec.
Plug also looked dark/sooty, which I thought was indicative of a rich mixture or incorrect timing.
Checked spark condition - There's spark, but i don't know if it's a "good spark". Spark is a spark to me...
Replaced points and adjusted timing (timing was off)
Replaced condenser (I don't even know what that does)
Did the cam chain tensioner adjust procedure.
Checked compression - 165 (cold)
Checked valve clearances and adjusted to spec (0.004 exhaust/0.002 intake)

Removed carburator:
Checked float height - off by 5mm!! - adjusted to spec (I was sure this was the problem)
Verified jet sizes and cleanliness of everything. Everything was really clean to begin with. Which surprised since it sat for a while
replaced gaskets on jets and bowl

Re-assembled, and started, but left side still wouldn't run.

Checked the fuel lines. The carb's getting gas. Verified by opening drain screw and watched gas come out.

Got it running on just on the right side, and took the air filter off the Left Carb to look in side. The needle isn't sticking, and gas is getting into the chamber
Tried swapping spark plugs even, but didn't make difference.
Also checked for air leaks using the WD40 trick - Nadda

What do you guys think?

Thanks

Scott.

·
Registered
2,740 Posts