Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, after a really horrible work week i return to find my 75 cl360 will not idle properly. sems to be hitting on only one cylinder. only had a few minutes to try and start it (had too much to do!), but first thing after work tomorrow i plan on tearing into it. so, after riding it only a week ago (ran fine, did backfire once though) what process should i take to narrow down my problem? since i am not an expert on this bike i can only ask what a more knowledgeable person would do. (has plenty of fuel in tank, battery is well charged, and switches are on)
-how does one check the points for proper function?
-if i have fuel flow through both carbs (bleeder screw) does that mean i am getting fuel?
it will kick start, but after a moment it dies off. i believe all the switches and fuses are fine, but some faulty part of the spark or fuel system is my belief.

03 rsv Tuono (STARF8R)
81 cb750f (stolen)
75 cl360 ("Chupa"thingy)

·
Registered
5,782 Posts
First thing I would do is check/replace the plugs. Looking at the plugs can tell a lot. Pull the plugs and report back as far as color, i.e. white, tan, black. and condition, i.e. wet, dry, oily.

Ken

AHRMA 412
Vintage racing - old guys on old bikes

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
My 360 seems to eat left side spark plugs. They to only last 100 miles or so, then just crap out. I thought the problem was the coil or some thing, but just put in a new plug and off I go. I bought a bunch of plugs at the same time so maybe it was a bad batch.

Any thoughts on this Ken?

Thanks,
Jack

·
Registered
5,782 Posts