Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sorry if you guys have covered this, but I'm a newbie... I want new spokes and I'm getting new tires soon.. I think they will be here wednesday. I would like to replace the spokes before i put my new tires on. can I do this or do I need to have them done at a shop? Can I replace them one at a time or will the rim get all out of whack? should I change them out then have the rim tuned at a shop?also where can I buy some nice chrome or stainless spokes?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Lacing wheels is part art, part science. Unless you have some time and lots of patience, take it to someone that does wheels. If you supply the parts, labor should be around a $100 per wheel. Try Buchannan Wheel and Spoke for your parts. You could loose lace them and take them to a shop and have them trued, but I dont know how much that would save you??

CT

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cool I checked buchanan but they don't sell them for my wheels. I really appreciate the tip though. the reason I was asking is that at one time I worked in a model A shop and one of my jobs was straightening the bent wire wheels and fixing the spokes. I was ok at it. so I have a mild concept how wire wheels work the run out and the spoke tension. I guess I could try it and if I can't get it.. I'll just take it to a shop? I mean if I'm gonna pay anyway I may as well try my hand at it? any other ideas on spokes, I don't really want the ebay thailand spokes!

·
Registered
13,809 Posts
buchanons doesnt have your spokes???

wha??

for what kind of bike?? or rim wheel combo?

jc

·
Registered
242 Posts
Buchannan's will make any spoke you want. You just have to send them the dimensions of the hub and rim or better yet samples of the spokes you're taking out so they can get the proper bends and thread length etc.

Mike O.

·
Registered
4,508 Posts